Frankly I am always more excited than I should be when there's an android update around the corner. I read and try to inform myself as much as I can about the new features and try to analyze what I will REALLY gain when it reaches my device. But hype is hype and I just can't avoid to feel excited to the news of a new Android version which my wild imagination suggests it will have holographic keyboards, graphics on par with the ps4 and will allow me to turn off the lights with bluetooth. I must admit that I won't install it on my olde S2 ASAP due to the number of bugs Cyanogenmod will have as soon as it is released, and I really need my phone to work. But I have my Nexus 10, still without a next generation. And I already have my ADB drivers installed, still haven't left Stock AND Google released the stock image so anxious guys like me can make the update manually.

So... What can I say? Disappointed or did Google delivered? Maybe half and half would be the straight short boring awful answer.
I must admit the best feature I was eager to have were those beautiful transparent bars. More screen and more colors. You should know I really do miss the merged navigation bar ice cream sandwich had and I really think two bars seem like a waste of space. So you must now know how disappointed I was when it was announced my dear and just a year old (it was released on November, 2012) Nexus 10 would not have it. More so, I was shocked it was due to performance issues due to the alpha level of the navigation bar. Let me get you how ridiculous that is. Have you checked how much RAM your OS really sees? If you go to the applications on execution, you will see you have 1.1 GB of RAM. The device is advertised as 2 GB. Google does not lie, the device does have the RAM it claims it has, but it uses a whooping 900MB on just the processing of the screen. Just. The. Screen... AND that's not enough for a bit of transparency? You might say that's possible, but then again we have ROMs that have apply those transparency levels without issue. Google did disappoint me on that aspect. And by disappoint I mean it hit my head with a sledgehammer. I hate you, Google (no, I don't)
There is something that did change a bit, though. Nova Launcher allows me to hide the notification and go full screen from my "desktop". You might think "Why? Why would you want that?" But I'll take every bit of screen I can to enjoy my precious wallpapers with 300 PPI. Don't judge me.
The other features I wasn't so eager to see but after I installed the update I started to spot the differences. Besides the obvious visual changes, I kinda died a little on the inside when my wi-fi symbol was plain white whether I had internet on wi-fi my connection or not. To check if I had wi-fi now I had to swipe down from my notification. If my wi-fi was poop-colored, then I was pooped and without wi-fi.
I don't really print stuff and I think the fact I lack a printer is a big reason for it. So I could not check the new way Kit Kat allows me to print stuff.
The surprise was when I started Magic 2014. This game is pretty demanding and I noticed a big change. My fps went up. I wasn't looking for a change like that, I just noticed it so I don't think its just placebo acting up. The app was way smoother. Besides that, I could just swipe down from the top of the screen to see my notifications which is neat.
Besides all this. All of you Nexus 10 owners should concern with the following: Due to the lack of updates the Galaxy Nexus will have, we should all start looking ourselves in the mirror. In 6 months we will be for ourselves, without support (18 months will have passed since the release of the Nexus 10).
Thank God for those ROM cookers.